MCC Clarifies Controversy Over Joe Root’s Dismissal in Edgbaston Test
- July 8, 2025
- 0
The Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) has addressed the controversy surrounding Joe Root’s dismissal during the second Test match between India and England at Edgbaston. The incident occurred when Indian pacer Akash Deep bowled Root, leading to debates among fans and experts who argued that the delivery should have been declared a no-ball. They pointed out that Deep’s back foot appeared to touch the ‘return crease,’ which would typically result in a no-ball call. However, the MCC has clarified that the delivery was within the rules, as confirmed by the third umpire.
In a statement, the MCC explained that although Akash Deep’s back foot landed unusually wide on the crease, it did not constitute a no-ball. The third umpire determined that the back foot was within legal limits at the point of first contact with the ground. According to MCC regulations, for a delivery to be considered fair, the bowler’s back foot must land within and not touch the return crease. The MCC emphasized that the correct decision was made based on these guidelines.
The match itself was a significant event for Akash Deep, who hails from Sasaram in Bihar. In the absence of star bowler Jasprit Bumrah, Deep stepped up to deliver an impressive performance. He took a total of 10 wickets in the match, including his first five-wicket haul with figures of 6/99 in England’s second innings. This remarkable effort contributed to India’s commanding victory over England by 336 runs, breaking a 58-year-old ‘Edgbaston Jinx’ and leveling the five-Test series at 1-1.
Akash Deep’s performance has been widely praised as he showcased his potential on an international stage. His ability to handle pressure and deliver crucial breakthroughs played a pivotal role in India’s success in this Test match.